‘Milk Chocolate’

The ubiquitous plant at flower shows last year was Digitalis parviflora, (sometimes given the cultivar name of ‘Milk Chocolate’), shown here on the Botanic Nursery stand, NCH of Digitalis, at Hampton Court Palace Flower Show

Digitalis parviflora

Digitalis parviflora

Inspired by hearing Mary and Terry Baker (shown below) of the Botanic Nursery talking on Friday’s GQT , I ventured out into the garden on Sunday – well the greenhouse, marginally warmer in there, to plant some foxglove seeds from various sources;  D. lutea bought from the Bakers at Hampton Court, ‘Milk Chocolate’ a give-away on the Macmillan garden,  D. lanata saved from plants I grew in my garden and D. purpurea ‘Pam’s Choice’ from the World Botanics range from Johnsons, sponsors of Plant Heritage.

Mary and Terry BakerIMG_2355

Following the instructions from Marina Christopher’s workshop last autumn, I used small pots filled with her gritty compost and lightly sprinkled the seeds on the surface.

IMG_2356

Then doing ‘the whole Marina method’ the surface of the pots was covered in 1-3mm grit which maintains a moist microclimate around the seeds and developing seedlings, and left in the open with no heat.   I have saved half of the seed for another attempt if this doesn’t work.

IMG_2360 (2) (1024x886)

The promise of things to come – D.’Pippa’ and D. purpurea ‘Pam’s Choice’ on the Baker’s display last year at Hampton Court.

Digitalis 'Pippa'Digitalis purpurea 'Pam's Choice'

This entry was posted in National Collections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ‘Milk Chocolate’

  1. I was so excited to see Macmillan handing out Digitalis parviflora at last years Hampton Court. I was devastated when I couldn’t find them on the train on my way home. Somewhere during the day I’d lost my packet.

    • gillians says:

      If you live anywhere near Guildford you can have some plants if my sowing is successful

      Gillian

      • That’s so generous – I might take you up on that (we have friends and family near Cranleigh so we’re up your way quite often). Let me know how you get on and i’ll see what I’ve got to swap nearer the time.

      • gillians says:

        That sounds perfect. I will contact you when I have ‘offspring’

Comments are closed.