Aster vista

Looking out at my garden I have a fabulous display of Asters blooming their socks off.  I am not including a photograph, because although the plants are wonderful the planting is not – heights all wrong, a white badly placed and generally poor integration into my ‘planting scheme’.  This bed started a couple of years ago when Mercy was visiting a NC of Asters; I gave her some money and asked her to choose a couple of plants for me.  This sturdy little specimen is one of her choices – Aster novae-angliae ‘Purple Dome’

Aster novae-angliae 'Purple Dome'

Then over the last couple of years I have requested and received Asters from the annual Plant Exchange.  My favourite is Aster novae-angliae ‘Brockamin’  – a lovely pink.

This year they need to be divided and moved, to show them off to better advantage and to keep them separate.  They are a little to close and may end up growing into each other and ‘contaminating’ the clump.  I need to think hard about where to put the white cultivars – I don’t like them next to the pinks, blues and purples, maybe in a white border I have on an East facing wall.  This will also mean that I will have plants to put into the Exchange – so if you see something you like, keep an eye open for it on the list which will be available through your group or on the website, later this year.

Bees also enjoying the asters.

IMG_1878IMG_1885

This entry was posted in National Collections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Aster vista

  1. asterisk15 says:

    Hello, I like all the plant photos of the flowers. I wondered, as I’ve had my Photography | Nature blog since May or June, how do I rack up more blog views, more followers, and more followers via email? I’ve turned Publicize on for Facebook, Twitter & Google+, but wondered how to earn more viewers and followers?

Comments are closed.