Vincent Square

Behind each successful charity is a group of dedicated volunteers prepared to act as Trustees, ensuring that the charity fulfils its charitable objectives as well as operating within the legal requirements.

Plant Heritage trustees are elected by the Plant Heritage Council and are currently a mixture of volunteers who originally worked in their Group committees and those with specialist skills who have been identified from outside the charity.  However all give the necessary time to attend four meetings a year – March, June, September and December – as well as the three Council meetings a year.  (Council is made up of Group representatives who are the sounding board for the charity’s direction.) 

Trustees are currently:
Professor Michael Alder – Chairman
Nicholas Stephens – Treasurer
Lloyd Kenyon – Vice Chairman, Conservation (and National Collection Holder)
Stuart Donachie – Council Rep for Herefordshire Group
Richard Gant – Council Rep for Cambridgeshire Group and Chairman of Education Committee
Steven Thompson – Council Rep for East Midlands Group
Doug Smith – Chairman of Hampshire Group and National Plant Collection Holder
Sue Dawson – Collections Coordinator, Leicestershire Group
Ian Hodgson – Member of Publications Committee
In attendance members (who have no vote) included
Mike Squires – Chairman of Shows Committee
Katrina Clow – Chairman of Publications Committee
Dr Pat Huff – Member of Publications Committee and Plant Heritage Journal Editor. 

Staff also attend the meeting including Genevieve Melbourne Webb, Executive Officer and Mercy Morris, Plant Conservation Officer.

 As the pictures show of the recent meeting, the trustees meet in the Council Room of the RHS at 80 Vincent Square,London, courtesy of our long standing relationship with the RHS.

Topics at the recent meeting included a look at the first draft end of year national accounts, as well as the exciting new development under the Convention of Biodiversity which could see Plant Heritage play a lead role in helping government to meet the international targets set by the “Strategic Plan for Biodiversity 2011-2020 and the Aichi Targets”.