Multicoloured Swap Shop

Broadcast by the BBC from 1976 to 1982, this was ground breaking TV of its time.  Although I don’t ever remember deliberately watching it, I used to have a Saturday job in my parents’ electrical shop where it would have been on the screen while was working and a subliminal message about swapping was absorbed. 

It’s the Surrey Group AGM this weekend which kicks off with a seed swap and this was the push I needed to do something with the seed heads collected over the autumn.  They have been sitting in paper bags waiting to be cleaned and packed up for the Hampton Court Seed Shop, my own use next year, and this seed swap.

Digitalis lanata seeds, from plants originally from the 2010 Hampton Court central display, ready to be cleaned.

Salvia patens ‘Blue Angel’ seeds after cleaning.

Seeds packed and labelled, including the Aster featured in Library Perk.

I am looking forward to seeing what interesting seeds I can get in return.  Maybe some Pelargonium ‘Noel’ for Mercy (last listed by the RHS Plantfinder in 2010) or Primula ‘Craven Gem’ (only listed by one nursery in Scotland) for myself.  Definitely the potential for a multicoloured summer 2012.
Follow the links to find out about the National Plant Collections of Digitalis and Salvia

This entry was posted in Events, National Collections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Multicoloured Swap Shop

  1. Pingback: Party time | Plant Heritage

Comments are closed.